Grafitti Practice

 The other day I mentioned that I had a plan for these threads. My plan was to practice some Grafitti quilting. This term was coined by a fabulous young quilter named Karlee Porter. If you haven’t seen her work, take a look! You won’t be disappointed.

I have used my version of this technique as background quilting on my Grafitti Heart quilt, my Fiesta quilt,  and my City Sampler quilt. This is the first time I have used contrasting thread. It’s a whole ‘nother ball game, folks! 

Yikes! I can do a decent swirl, until I try to put one in red thread smack dab in the middle of a whole cloth piece! It is MUCH easier to hide your mistakes when the thread matches the background! Here is a shot of the whole thing.

  And the back:

  This is the worst part. That horrible center and the Mick Jagger tongue. Yikes! 

But once again, I learned a lot! In fact, after stitching the center, I turned off the stitch regulator on my machine and did the rest without it. And guess what? Everything went much smoother. Not perfect, but better. Sorry for too many pictures, I want to keep a record so I can look back and see progress. 

  

  

There are some ares I do like such as the area below that looks like saw blades and the echoes on the feathers. I also like the blending of the thread colors.  

  You can see that this is not bound. I am thinking about cutting it up to make zipper bags out of it. Then I can get rid of that ugly center.  

Linking up with Lizzie Lenard Vintage Sewing for Free Motion Mavericks and Pink Doxies for Pet Projects.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Free Motion Quilting, HQ Avante. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Grafitti Practice

  1. maartjequilt says:

    I like to graffiiti free motion quilt like this with multicolored thread. You did a great yob and it looks great. When you look at your work like this in detail, you always find something to improve, but it looks great. I make zipper bags of graffitty samplers and they look great and are great gifts.

  2. I agree, Katy. Wait a few months. It’s a great project to demonstrate growth to yourself. Then, if you decide you don’t have another purpose for it, I think the zipper bags idea is wonderful. I’ve done the same with practice projects, and I still get to appreciate the work.

    Thanks for linking this up with the Pet Project Show today.

    Julie @ Pink Doxies

  3. You really did a great job on this, such intricacy in the stitching. Why don’t you wait a while before cutting it. You might change your mind.

  4. Cynthia says:

    Wow. Your quilt is stunning. I am glad you have shared lots of picture. I love been able to see all the detail. I agree with Patti Don’t cut it up just yet, at least enjoy it whole for a while just in case.

  5. That center probably looks better to us than what you’re seeing. I like this & would be inclined to wait cutting it up & let it grow on you & tell you what you want to develop from it. I like the part you like too because I like tight geometric looks over the sketchy looks. But I don’t dislike sketchy, I think I want improvisational but orderly. LOL is that an oxymoron? I want to try graffiti quilting too.

  6. Cécile says:

    Oh Katy !! You’re so funny….. What a great work !
    Well, if the center reminds you M.Jagger’s tongue, I declare your quilt a collector !

  7. lois92346 says:

    You cracked me up with the reference to Mike Jagger’s tongue! LOL! Everything else looks excellent and you’re just a beginner at “graffiti” quilting. You’re going to have so much fun!

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    Looks like a lot of quilty fun. With experience you will learn which colors to quilt close with and which not to (like red, unless you really want something to stand out). It is a whole new design process, and it will be fun to watch you explore it. At the moment it is a spectator sport for me; don’t see myself as ready to try the contrasting colors. In a couple years, maybe.

  9. I think the red center only looks ugly to you. Looks lovely to me.

  10. Donna says:

    LOL – Mick Jagger! After you mentioned that, it became even more noticeable. I love the mix of geometric with the swirls. I has a nice balance of shape and color, except for Mick. 😀

  11. redeemedsheep says:

    What a fascinating technique! I laughed out loud at the Mick Jagger remark! So funny!!!

  12. Kathy Davenport says:

    Love what you’re doing with the contrasting thread. The feather echoes are gorgeous, and I’m partial to the paisley and pebble sections, too. Thanks for including the links to your earlier work with this technique. Everything is beautiful!

Leave a comment