Free Motion Quilting

I spent a bit of time practicing some free motion work earlier this week.



I’m not really over the moon about any of these. 
I was trying to come up with a good idea for quilting my pillow top for the Intrepid Thread challenge. In the end, I went with swirls.


I spent a ridiculous amount of time yesterday morning looking for my box of zippers. I want to finish this today, so it may end up without one!

I also hope to get a QOV loaded up today. But first there is work and then visiting a friend.

Have a lovely day!

Linking up with My Quilt Infatuation, Lizzie Lenard Vintage Sewing

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Free Motion Quilting, HQ Avante. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Free Motion Quilting

  1. Hello Katy,

    I love the samplers, so much so that am featuring this post at Free Motion Mavericks this week! I think you made the best choice, though. The swirls on the pieced top look just perfect.

    Thank you for linking up!

    Love, Muv

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Work does have a way of interfering with pleasure. I like your doodles and then the swirls on the pillow. I can spend a lot of time pondering which design. And zippers? I gave up on having them when I needed them and use flap closings instead. claire aka knitnkwilt.wordpress.com

  3. Stephie says:

    They look great to me Katy! I really love the squares in the top picture, they’re similar to something I have in mind for some hand quilting – I bet you finish before me!!

  4. Kathleen says:

    Your FMQ would make good coloring book pages!

  5. Wow….amazing. I’ll get there someday……..

  6. Kathy D says:

    It’s clear you have more talent in your pinky finger than I have in my whole body. Even your “doodles” are inspiring to view!

  7. Katy, I think you did a wonderful job! Was this done on a larger long arm or on a quilting machine?

Leave a comment