Finish It Up Friday – The Calendar Quilt

This UFO has been a long time in the finishing. I made these blocks as a block a day exercise back in May of 2010. I made up a few rules for myself. Each block would finish at 5 inches and I could only use solids. Each block should in some way represent that day. You can read more about this project here. Looking back now, I don’t even remember what some of these meant! Other memories are crystal clear. Like the day Daughter #1 returned from her study abroad trip to India, the day I received mail from Daughter #3 while serving in AmeriCorps, a camping trip, a day at the beach, an excursion to a favorite museum etc.

IMG_4935
May 1st of that year fell on a Saturday. I placed my blocks in “weeks” that are vertical rather than horizontal.  So the first block is the little blue ladder  in the lower left hand corner.

I used a variegated green thread to quilt this in approximately parallel lines about 1/4 inch apart. I used two different colors of gray thread in the bobbin.

I quilted one of my favorite quotes from Ralph Waldo Emerson in the border: “The years teach much which the days never know.”

IMG_4929
Here are a few detail shots.


The finished quilt measures 30″ x 40.” It is a very personal piece and will hang in my sewing room. It reminds me to count the days.

Linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts, Richard and Tanya Quilts, Confessions of a Fabric Addict

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Art Quilts, Finishes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Finish It Up Friday – The Calendar Quilt

  1. I think your quilt is beautiful, and I like that the blocks have special individual meaning to you far beyond what anybody could read from them – at least when you still remember! I, too, encourage you to document the ones you do remember and attach the documentation to the quilt.

  2. Your quilt is awesome! I love the idea of make blocks inspired by the day! And your Modern, improv blocks are really great! You should submit this to Quiltcon!

  3. JanineMarie says:

    This, to me, is exactly what an art quilt should be–it has visual impact but also layers of meaning–some personal and others that anyone could relate to. Too bad you aren’t allowed three entries into the Bloggers Festival. This would be great in the art category!

  4. Kat says:

    Great quilt concept, and I love the quote you stitches in!

  5. kris says:

    Really cool concept. I love how you quilted it and the quote too! Lovely!

  6. Fabulous quilt – love how you arranged it and quilted it. The addition of the quote is brilliant.
    I too love quilts that have meaning and a great story.
    Pauline
    perry94022 at hotmail dot com

  7. Joy says:

    I love quilts like this that have so much meaning. I think this quilt deserves a label which details everything about the quilt and what it means to you. If I could find or inherit a quilt that was labeled in such a way I would cherish it forever.

  8. lois92346 says:

    It’s fabulous, Katy! Congratulations on finishing it!

  9. Debbie says:

    really cool design and I love the addition of the quote in your border! Great Job!

Leave a comment