WIP Wednesday 

My week is really getting away from me! I have lots to do before I leave tomorrow after work. I did get my blocks for the shirting quilt sewn together yesterday.


My points are far from perfect! With 12 points all coming together, it is bulky. I will be thinking about that with the quilting. I am adding a white border to float the stars.


They are cut and ready so hopefully, I can get those added today and the top will be done.
I also pulled out this sawtooth star project to take with me.


I have 70 stars finished. And I think I have 26 left to piece. The bits for each block are already matched up and ready to sew.


I will be taking one of my Featherweights with me. I am also taking my Brinton Hall piece with me. I hope to get those last two medallions added. The last piece I am taking is the dinosaur quilt. It will be all done after I finish the hand sewing on the binding.

Time to get to work! Have a great day!

Linking up with Freshly Pieced, Sew Fresh Quilts

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIP Wednesday 

  1. Cécile says:

    I kept the shirts of my sons to make a quilt too ….that’s a great idea !!
    Love your stars too…

  2. audrey says:

    Great use of your shirtings fabric! Looking forward to seeing how you quilt this one.:)

  3. JanineMarie says:

    Way to go with the complicated intersections. I think they look fine. I really like how your shirtings go together so well. I may have forgotten if you’ve said, but are they cut-up shirts or yardage?

  4. Ha! I hadn’t thought of doing the kite blocks in shirting. Yours really look good. I’m doing one in batik, but have put it aside for now.

  5. your shirtings quilt is beautiful 🙂 Lucy x http://www.crazyforpurple.com hopping over from freshly pieced.

  6. sandi says:

    I love your shirtings quilt! I had forgotten about your star quilt, it is going to be very pretty. Have fun on your trip. Hugs,

  7. Allison says:

    This first quilt looks like it would make a great guy quilt, and the randomness mixed with the solid blues really add to it… and the “far from perfect” points look great!

  8. Cathy Smith says:

    You have so much going on! I am loving that first one. Just gorgeous!

  9. Jan O says:

    Such a cool shirting fabric quilt – I really like it! And I like your historic print fabrics, too.

  10. anything with plaids are always a hit with me. even more special made from loved one’s shirts. enjoy your weekend.

  11. Carol Woosley says:

    There is a way to avoid the dreaded “twelve point convergence.” This old-time block pattern, called “Periwinkle” or “Hummingbird” can be pieced with “only” eight points converging. Here’s how: http://quiltingtutorials.com/all/periwinkle-quilt-wacky-web-template/
    Keep on quiltin’
    Carol. Cwoosley12@yahoo.com

  12. I definitely take seam bulk into consideration when I come up with a quilting plan. It can make things tricky! Your points may not all be perfect, but it looks beautiful to me. 🙂

  13. Susan says:

    Have a wonderful trip! It looks like you won’t be bored while you’re away.
    I really like how the shirtings quilt is coming out. Traditional and modern at the same time, with that nice crisp blue-and-white look. Did you use bought yardage for it, or cut-up shirts?

  14. Kathy says:

    Yikes – 12 points all coming together – that’s a guarantee that some points are going to be less than perfect (at least in my world). However, even with the picture enlarged, I think your stars are absolutely fabulous and your points are just fine! Enjoy your get-away … safe travels!

Leave a comment