May Wrap Up and June Goals

It is that time again! This year is just flying by! Here are the goals I had set for May and my results:

1. The SQT group challenge for the Month is to make a Log Cabin quilt. I think that makes it a perfect time to finally finish these 4″ blocks and make the quilt already! Not done! But I did finish making the blocks and got all the paper torn out.

IMG_2481
2.  I also signed up for the small quilt swap being hosted by Lori over at Humble Quilts  so I need to get something made for that. I have been toying with a few ideas and made a few HSTs before work yesterday morning. Done! And received by my swap partner.

IMG_2781
3. I want to get this Quilt of Valor completely finished. I have a recipient in mind and time is of the essence! Done and presented!

 

IMG_2882-0

 

3. I would like to make a baby quilt for a gift from this fabric. If I run out of time, I have another baby quilt already made that I can give.

I didn’t get this quilt made but I gave one that I had done last fall so I would call that a partial finish! Here is the quilt that I gifted:

IMG_0543

4. In pondering the SQT Log Cabin challenge, I remembered this vintage top that Mr. Wonderful gave me for Christmas in 2013. I would love to quilt this up this month as well. Done!

IMG_2778-0

5. I also have these lovely Amy Butler strips patiently waiting to be pieced into blocks. Done! And I have started piecing them together.

IMG_2916

 

6. I signed up to do a Pay It Forward gift on Instagram. I would like to get those packages together and sent this month as well. Not done.

Now, what else did I get done this month?

I finished this small quilt:

IMG_2927

And I quilted two QOVs.

IMG_2952 IMG_2957

On to my goals for June!

1. I have one more QOV top that needs to be quilted.

2. I want to finish my 16 patch top. The biggest hindrance here is deciding how big I want this to be and what to do about borders.

3. I have an idea for a flag quilt made from hourglass blocks that I want to make for my entry way. I have the pieces all cut. I would love to have this complete so I can hang it for the Fourth.

4. I am going to make a quilt for each of my sisters this summer. I have fabric for both but need to make some decisions on designs. I want to have at least one of them to the piecing stage this month.

5. I want that darn log cabin done this month!

6. I also want to start putting these blocks together. IMG_1722

I was given these by a dear blog reader, Jan, last year and I want to see them in a quilt this year!

That is probably enough, given that summer brings surprises of its own.

Linking up with Lily’s Quilts for Fresh Sewing Day , Free Motion by the River for Linky Tuesday, and I have to Say for Show and Tell Tuesday.

 

 

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Finishes, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to May Wrap Up and June Goals

  1. Vivian says:

    You had a great May and I see good things in store for you for June! Love the doll swap quilt and going to look around to find out more about the BF quilting you did on the small quilt. I hope your QOV productivity rubs off on me since they’re on my list too!

  2. JanineMarie says:

    What wonderful finishes and plans! Your productivity amazes me. I’m intrigued by those last blocks. Are they vintage, new, or newly made from vintage fabric?

  3. melissa says:

    your piecing is beautiful, but your quilting is fantastic! I struggle so much quilting that when I see good examples of how it should look, I am in awe 😀
    Congratz

  4. I thoroughly enjoyed your “wrap up” of May quilts! The baby quilt is just sweet – and reminded me that I need to get in gear and make one as well! Thanks for sharing!

  5. allisonreidnem says:

    Thank you for sharing your progress through May. i really like the rail fence baby quilt you gave away. I have a MODA scrap bag and was wondering how to use the strips of different widths in a quilt but that could be the answer 🙂

  6. Well – I think you got an amazing amount done – and LOVE that vintage Log Cabin quilt!! Good luck on June!!

  7. Barb Vedder says:

    what a nice quilt show today! wow –
    Your comment on my little flag didn’t come to my email but I wanted to say that I think yours will end up the same size. The sewing uses so much seam allowance! Love your stack of LC blocks.

  8. Kathy says:

    You are just so productive! I love all the projects you worked on in May. I especially can’t wait to see your log cabin together.

  9. I love the vintage log cabin quilt!

  10. Terri says:

    Katy you are simply amazing at all of the quilting projects you can complete in one month and they are all beautiful. I love all of your quilts!

  11. Cécile says:

    Very nice projects done ! I love your doll quilt for the Lori’s swap !!

Leave a comment