Finish It Up Friday

I have two small finishes this week. I put the little hour glass top together earlier this week and quilted it in a random grid pattern.

I finished the hand sewing on the binding last night while watching Unbroken with my love. I highly recommend this movie about Louis Zamperini. Although the book by Laura Hillenbrand is even better. The back is a very old piece from my stash. 

 

I added borders to just the two ends. 

 

This makes it a perfect size for my coffee table. 

 Should have straightened those pillows!

My second finish was a kill two birds with one stone project. Kathy Tracy of Sentimental Quilter post the pattern for a cute little mug rug for National Quilting Day.  Last fall, I proposed a small quit challenge using vintage fabrics with a friend. Why is it that when the word challenge is used all my creativity flies out the window? I spied this little pile of fabric and used it for this little quilt. Mine is not going to be used as a mug rug! But I think it is cute with one of my vintage toy machines. 

I didn’t use all the fabrics in the pile and I added the shirting fabrics. The red “bloomed” when I hit my block with steam! I like it anyway. 

  

I used part of a vintage feedback on the back and my go to quilting a random grid.

Linking up with Crazy Mom Quilts, Confessions of a Fabric Addict, Richard and Tanya Quilts, and Pink Doxies.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Civil War Repro Quilts, Doll Quilts, Finishes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Finish It Up Friday

  1. Anja says:

    Great quilting.

  2. Cassandra says:

    You have two really lovely minis here- the grid quilting looks great on these!

  3. Christine says:

    Very sweet little quilts! The Hour Glass one is matching perfectly with your decor!

  4. Kathy says:

    What fabulous finishes! I’ve found that books are almost always better than the movies … I want to see the movie and read the book.

  5. By the way, I have to tell you how much I’m enjoying seeing that beautiful colorful quilt in your header each time I open your page. What a bright happy pop!

  6. They are both just perfect, bloom and all!

  7. Lu Ann says:

    I really like how you only put borders on two sides of the hourglass quilt . I need to remember to do that more often on my quilts. Great finishes!

  8. Lois says:

    The hour glass quilt is perfect for your coffee table. I love small quilts like that. You can change them out whenever the mood strikes. 🙂 And that little mug rug looks adorable with your tiny machine.

  9. Myra says:

    Your quilts are lovely! I can’t see where the red bled, but that is the joy of pictures sometimes! They are called toss pillows for a reason!

  10. Mari says:

    Very nice! I love your little minis. And I agree–the book Unbroken is amazing. Unbelievable how they all survived.

Leave a comment