Design Wall Monday

I finished the nail polish quilt and will share that later this week. I also played with my 9 patches this weekend.

IMG_0553.JPG
I didn’t do a lot of rearranging of the blocks, but I did find a perfect fat quarter for borders.

IMG_0570.JPG
I got it basted.

IMG_0551.JPG
And started quilting.

IMG_0571.JPG
I hope to finish this this week.

I also have an idea for another shirting quilt. I have added a few of my husbands shirts to my stash so I need to “debone” them as Bonnie Hunter would call it. She has a great video on YouTube showing how she does it. Check it out here. I thought my method was good until I saw her do it! Her method is way easier! Good thing, I have a pile to do before I get to the fun stuff.

IMG_0568.JPG

Linking up with Judy at Patchwork Times for DWMonday.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Design Wall Monday

  1. Judy D in WA says:

    Love this! I’m working with blue and brown right now and might have to copy this with my leftovers. 🙂 I love deboning shirts Bonnie’s way. I have a bag of them coming in after next week and I am so excited!

  2. barbvedder says:

    love it – the color combination is great

  3. Ramona says:

    Nine patches are popular right now. Love your color combo! How big are your squares? I just finished a quilt made from shirts and really enjoyed making it. I see another one in my future. Looking forward to seeing yours.

  4. Libby Smith says:

    You’ve inspired me! I’ve been gifted a bunch of browns/tans; combining with blue would really set them off.

Leave a comment