Slow Stitching Sunday

I haven’t forgotten the nail polish quilt I started. I marked it:

IMG_0556.JPG
And quilted it last week.

IMG_0554.JPG
All good, right? Not really. I used a washable Crayola marker to mark the quilting lines. I have used these before without issue. This time they bled and didn’t completely wash out. Ugh! It is my own fault for not testing. I washed it a few times with Dawn dish soap and that took care of the worst of it. It will have to be good enough since someone “helped” me by throwing the laundry into the dryer.

I started binding it a few days ago. Today I will finally finish it.

IMG_0552.JPG

Linking up with Kathy Quilts for Slow Stitching Sunday.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Slow Stitching Sunday

  1. RedSetter says:

    Lovely quilt and I am sure the pen marks will come out with time.

  2. debrapugh says:

    It’s so cute ! Hopefully the marks will all fade away or come out eventually!

  3. Angela says:

    I’ve use washables too but never had a problem with the washing out. Hope that it comes out with time. What a cute little quilt!

  4. barbvedder says:

    cute quilt. Bummer about the marking. Have you tried clorox 2 bleach? that is what I always use to remove the crayola marking.

  5. Kathy says:

    Gosh, I’ve heard so many recommendations for the Crayola markers. I’m sorry you had trouble this time. :-(

  6. Carla says:

    I have used Crayola washable markers and never had a problem. There is also a product called Synthrapol that takes out excess dye.

  7. Jo says:

    So what size is this quilt. What is it going to be used for. It is very unique

  8. Yikes! That was a close call! Glad you were able to remove most of it!
    Thanks for linking up!

  9. Alycia says:

    Hmmm – good to know about the markers.. Cute quilt!!!

  10. Jill says:

    The nail polish quilt is perfect for a nail salon. Glad you were not working on a large bed quilt with hard-to-remove lines.

  11. Lois says:

    It turned out to be adorable. Could the marks be passed off as “intentional”? Sounds like the other gals think it will wash out in time. Here’s hoping.

  12. It is so frustrating when something that has worked in the past suddenly doesn’t… your mini quilt is so cute and I hope it will be loved no matter what!

  13. Your marks will fade with time! It looks great regardless.

  14. Deb says:

    Very cute! I said ‘that is nail polish’ before I even read the post! It looks like it came out pretty good in that last shot. Lovely stitches in your quilt.

  15. I saw a smaller version of this on Lori Holt’s blog and thought of making a lap quilt for the granddaughters. Cute block and lovely hand quilting.

Leave a Reply

