9 Patches from a Charm Pack

I picked up this charm pack at the Missouri Star Quilt Company on our trip last month.

IMG_0537.JPG
I was trying to come up with a handwork project to make with it but this stubborn charm pack wanted to become a small 9 patch quilt. Who am I to argue?

I used my 1 1/2″ strip die for my studio cutter. I thought I would show you how since I know some of my readers have die cutters too.

First, I paired up charm squares right sides together. I laid them on top of my strip cutter so that three strips were cut from each.

IMG_0910.JPG

IMG_0912.JPG
You can see there is very little waste but this does get rid of those pesky pinked edges.

Next, I sewed the strips together, alternating light and dark in each pair.

IMG_0913.JPG
I always press to the dark side with these. Then I layer the two sets. Since I pressed to the dark fabric in each set, the seams automatically nest.

IMG_0914.JPG
Now it is time to lay those strip sets back on the die with seams perpendicular to the blades.

IMG_0915.JPG

IMG_0916.JPG
Time to sew the 9 patches together! The first seams are really quick because they come off the die ready to feed through the machine.

IMG_0917.JPG
You get two 9 patches from each pair of charm squares with this method.

IMG_0918.JPG
Here is a peak at the back to see how I press my seams.

IMG_0925.JPG
You get 42 blocks from a charm pack with almost no waste and no scraps left over.

IMG_0938.JPG
This same method could be used with layer cakes and larger strip dies.

Now I still have to come up with a handwork project……

Have a great weekend!

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 9 Patches from a Charm Pack

  1. njquilter24 says:

    always love nine patches I was thinking you were going to make rail fences ! hand work project, how about sewing this together and then attach a border of appliqué, you could appliqué and then hand quilt the little quilt for your hand work project…
    Kathie

  2. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the demonstration on subcutting. I bought strip dies with the intention of using them to subcut squares as well as cutting strips. I haven’t made any quilts using squares yet, but you shown how easy it is … thanks!

  3. Lois says:

    Oh, Katy! I *love* this idea! I’ve been staying away from charm packs and layer cakes lately because I truly hate those pinked edges. I own an Accuquilt Go! so this should be a snap! Thank you so much for sharing your ideas with all of us.

  4. Thank you! That is very well explained and illustrated. I have a lot of dies but I have never been temped until now to get any of the strip dies…… :0)

Leave a Reply

