Thursday? Already?

I seem to have lost part of my week! I still haven’t completely unpacked from last weekend and it is almost time to pack for my next trip to see Baby L. But I have gotten a wee bit of sewing in. A while back, I bought a Moda Scrap pack. I always wanted to see what they were like. I wish I had taken some pictures before I started working with it but you can Google it to see for yourself.

Basically, they are scrap strips left over from their cutting of precuts. You get strips with a pinked edge and a selvedge edge. They are not uniform in width. I think I had about 30 strips in my pack ranging from 2-4″ in width and about 30″ long. I wanted to use it all up in one project with as little waste as possible. So I sewed strips together in sets of three and then cut 6″ squares from the strip sets with my die cutter. I ended up with a rather wonky sort of a rail fence design.

IMG_0528.JPG
I used the scraps from my scraps to piece a few blocks and ended up with a 36″ x 42″ top. I love the colors and fabrics but can’t say I am in love with the top. Perhaps I will like it better when I am done quilting it.

IMG_0530.JPG

IMG_0531.JPG
This is the pantograph I am using:

IMG_0527.JPG
This was a quick project and will make a great donation quilt. It is a bit funky, which I like. Would I buy another scrap pack? Probably not. But it was a fun little experiment.

Linking up with Kelly for Needle and Thread Thursday and Gemma for IQuilt.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thursday? Already?

  1. Judy says:

    The color combo in this is great! It will definitely be loved by its recipient :) I’ve never bought a scrap pack. . . too chicken haha Isn’t it amazing how quilting a top can turn it from something you shrug at to something you love? :)

  2. Kathy says:

    I’ve never heard of the Moda Scrap Bags. I’d order one just for one if I thought I could select the fabric style. ;-) That’s going to be a nice quilt for someone.

  3. Anja says:

    I think it looks great considering you used scraps. I like the colours

  4. Lea says:

    Oh I love it! Beautiful colors and scraps.

  5. Lois says:

    It’s really, really cute, Katy, and I love the quilting on it.

  6. knitnkwilt says:

    Hmmm. With all the scraps I have I shouldn’t allow myself to be tempted. But it appears that the scrap bags come coordinated. Totally tempting. You ended up with a great quilt.

  7. I love your quilt! I also was curious and bought a scrap bag of Me & My Sister fabric but haven’t taken it out of the package yet :)

  8. Wendi says:

    Beautiful color choice and I really love the pattern you’re quilting.

  9. Micki says:

    Love the combo of red/pink and teal. Amazing how a simple rail fence can look so good.

Leave a Reply

