Tired on Tuesday

Daughter #1, Baby E, and I got home late yesterday afternoon. It was an exhausting, emotional trip but I am so glad we went. My mom is doing much better and they sent her home last night. While I was gone, hubby and Daughter #3 went to a garage sale and picked this up for me:

IMG_0525.JPG
It looks like this top may have been part of a tied quilt at one time. It is dirty and has some holes that need fixing. But it is all made from feed sacks. I am thinking I will repair this and quilt it. I won’t wash it until after that.

IMG_0883.JPG

IMG_0882.JPG

IMG_0881.JPG
Would you wash first?

Not a single stitch of sewing happened while I was away. This morning, I hemmed a pair of pants. Somehow, that doesn’t feel like it counts! Off to work soon.

I am linking up with Connie at Free Motion By the River for Linky Tuesday.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tired on Tuesday

  1. Nicole says:

    OMG – don’t EVER wash a quilt top by itself. Check out Tim Latimer’s blog for lots of info about it (he buys old tops and completes them). Glad your mom is doing better.

  2. Diane says:

    Wait to wash…..

  3. Lois says:

    How fun it must be to study the fabrics and sewing techniques on this treasure. Your hubby and daughter are so thoughtful. I’m glad to hear your mom is recovering nicely.

  4. Deb says:

    Lucky YOU, Miss Katy and what a great family – so glad to hear Mom is doing much better! I’ve quilted several ‘feed sack’ quilts and to date, I’ve always quilted them First, then laundered very carefully on delicate w/non-abrasive laundry product…Enjoy!

  5. Donna says:

    Good to hear your mom is doing better. What a blessing that you were there for her, too. Your feedsack top is wonderful, and quite a project of love. Look forward to seeing it restored and made whole again. :D

  6. Alycia says:

    Oh my gosh – that is fabulous! Glad your mom is doing better.

  7. Kathy says:

    What a beautiful quilt that will be when you are finished transforming it! I can’t wait to see if when you’re done. So glad to hear that your mom is doing better.

  8. redeemedsheep says:

    I would very gently wash it after it’s all fixed. It is a beauty!!

Leave a Reply

