Finish it up Friday

Today I am sharing with you my finished Color Bars quilt.

20140424-213745.jpg
It measures 42″ x 60.” I used Glide thread in Cool Grey and a low loft Pellon Poly batting.

20140424-213900.jpg

20140424-213915.jpg

20140424-213925.jpg
Because I started with a jelly roll of solids, I didn’t prewash any of the fabrics. These pictures show the quilt after washing.

20140424-214035.jpg
This will go to Quilts Beyond Borders. It was a fun quilt to make, both in terms of piecing and quilting.

I am linking up with Crazy Mom Crazy Mom QuiltsQuilts for Finish it up Friday, Confessions of a Fabric Addict for Can I Get a Whoop Whoop?, Richard and Tanya Quilts for Link a Finish Friday, and a Quiltering Reader’s Garden for Thank God It’s Finished Friday.

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing adult kids, and a former librarian. I love making everything from traditional quilts to art quilts. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Finishes, Free Motion Quilting, Fresh Modern Quilts, Solids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Finish it up Friday

  1. I love the quilt, especially the background you used. Love the quilting too! Thanks for linking to TGIFF.

  2. Lyndsey says:

    Great quilt and I love the quilting.

  3. Wow Wow Wow -I just love that!!! It will be cherished!!

  4. Terri Faust says:

    Very interesting quilt. You did a great job on the quilting!

  5. Audrey says:

    Ooh, I love the quilting, and it looks so good on the back! Nice finish! 🙂

  6. quiltncards says:

    2 quilts in one! Beautiful. Love the peacock feathers. Great quilting! You must be a long armer.
    Hugs

  7. selina says:

    congrats on the finish, great job.

  8. Snowcatcher says:

    The backing really caught me by surprise. That makes this totally reversible for two quilts in one, two distinct different moods! The quilting is wonderful!

  9. Lois says:

    That looks like a tremendous amount of quilting, Katy. Though I;m honestly not a fan of gray, the backing is LOVELY!! So what’s NEXT??

  10. I love the soft quilting on the grey contrasted with the geometric quilting on the colors!

  11. Sandi says:

    Love this quilt and your backing! Your quilting on it really brought it to life. Have a great weekend. Hugs,

  12. Judy says:

    Great quilting! I hope you don’t mind, I took a screen shot for my file. It is a good pattern for a quilt with vertical lines.

  13. Sandra says:

    I really like the grid quilting on your project. The back is as interesting as the front. Nice job!

Leave a comment