Finish it Up Friday – Midwinter Blues

I finished up my small Midwinter Blues quilt this week. I love Lori’s quilt alongs and this one has been great fun. The instructions for each step are still up and you can find step one here. I really love how this little quilt turned out. I made my blocks a bit bigger than hers and my quilt finishes at about 27 inches square. I am thinking about making a bigger quilt with these same blocks.

20140214-061105.jpg
I quilted this with Superior mono-poly in the top and Magnasoft in the bottom. I used a piece of toile I purchased way back when we lived in France for the back.

20140214-061301.jpg
I love it in my family room.

20140214-061350.jpg
My son made this quilt rack for me in a high school shop class. I love it!

Last night I pulled out these little 4″ log cabin blocks that I made about a year ago.

20140214-061638.jpg

20140214-061654.jpg

I made a few more while hubby was on a phone meeting. I don’t love making these but I love them when they are done. Maybe because it makes such a mess.

20140214-061856.jpg
Maybe because they are a bit fiddly. Maybe they take so long because I am OCD about cutting threads and cleaning everything up after every paper pieced seam. At any rate, I am up to 25 blocks now. My next goal is to get to 36. Hope I can do that before losing interest and putting it away for another year!

I am linking up with Amanda at Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish it up Friday and Sarah at Confessions of a fabric attic for Can I Get A Whoop Whoop? Also Richard and Tanya Quilts for Link a Finish.

Today, Daughter #1 is coming over to sew. Yay!

Happy Valentine’s Day to all!

So faith, hope, love remain, these three; but the greatest of these is love. (1 Corinthians 13:13 NABRE)

 

Linking up with Lori at Humble Quilts. Click here to see more versions of the Midwinter Blues!

About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Civil War Repro Quilts, Finishes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Finish it Up Friday – Midwinter Blues

  1. Where do I start? I love, love, love your Midwinter Blues! Your fabrics are gorgeous, and that stripe for the border is spectacular!!! Are those log cabin blocks foundation paper pieced? I see what looks like white paper under each block. Not to mention that if those blocks are 4″, those must be 1/2″ strips (with a 1″ center)?? I would think that with pieces that size, paper piecing might well be the way to go?? My next quilt will be a log cabin for my oldest grandson … but I will not be making 4″ blocks! ha!

  2. Lynn says:

    The blues look just perfect in that spot you have for the quilt. And the log cabins, I agree absolutely about the fiddly aspect, but they are a great result. Must pull out the half dozen or so I have tucked away somewhere. Look forward to how it will come together.

  3. The mid winter blues is a very pretty design and little quilt! So pretty!

    You have quite a bit going on with that log cabin as well ! Happy Sewing :)

  4. Alberta Sue Bennett says:

    Love your mid winter blues. The fabrics are great.

    happy Valentines Day.

  5. Ann in PA says:

    Love, Love, Love your Mid Winter Blues Quilt….wonderful fabrics front & back!

  6. Pretty blue fabrics in Midwinter quilt. I like the check sashing. Log cabin blocks are very nice. You should keep making more. How cool to be able to piece them on a featherweight.

  7. Love your little log cabin blocks. They will be fun to see put together.
    Merrilee

  8. LoriD says:

    Your version is lovely! The border fabric looks so nice and that toile backing is beautiful!!

  9. dezertsuz says:

    Your Midwinter Blues is really lovely, and how lucky you are to have a son to make that quilt rack for you. If he wanted to make more, I imagine he could see quite a few for a reasonable price. =) I love log cabin blocks. I make them as leader-enders a lot, sometimes wonky-careless scraps and sometimes perfectly cut strips. To me, it’s mindless sewing and I love the millions of ways they can go together. I don’t paper-piece them, though I do the pineapple version.

  10. Kathy says:

    Wonderful fabrics in Midwinter Blues… a beautiful finish! Log Cabin blocks are my all time favorite… messy or not, yours will be so worth it! And you are more than halfway to your goal!!!

  11. gayleburton says:

    That striped border makes a great finish to this quilt – it’s been so fun seeing all the different versions!

  12. Janet O. says:

    Great looking little quilt! I love your backing choice, too!
    I had to laugh at what you said about the log cabin blocks. I have a pile of those in a box somewhere. They were not paper pieced, but I found them tedious to make. I hope to return to them someday. : )

Leave a Reply

