Blogger’s Quilt Festival!

It is that time of year! Amy is again hosting the Blogger’s Quilt Festival for those of us at home while the rest of the quilting world travels to Houston for Quilt Market.

I have had a terrible time deciding what to enter!

This entry will be for the Baby Quilt Category. I made this quilt last year with dress shirts from my husband and my son. It will be a baby quilt for my first grand baby, a boy, to be born in February of next year.  I love the idea that my grandson will be wrapped in fabric worn by his daddy and grandpa. I will eventually make a baby quilt for each of my children for their children out of the rest of these fabrics.

It isn’t my finest workmanship, or greatest design, but this one has LOTS of love, hopes, and dreams for this little baby’s life.

???????????????????????????????

Oct2013 036

Oct2013 037

Oct2013 039

It was quilted in randomly placed lines from top to bottom and I quilted this on my home sewing machine before I got my long arm.

You can see the other entrants in the Baby Quilt Category here. And you can find the main posting for the BQF here.

AmysCreativeSide
About katyquilts

I am a wife, mom of four amazing kids, and a librarian. I have been making traditional quilts for ages but have ventured into art qulting in the last several years. I also love to knit socks and mittens and dye my own fabric. I am thankful to God my Father and Creator for the gift of creativity!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blogger’s Quilt Festival!

  1. Sandi says:

    I think your baby quilt is adorable!

  2. Robin says:

    What a wonderful quilt! I especially love that baby will be “wrapped in fabric worn by his daddy and grandpa”– that is just awesome and so incredibly special. Lucky little dude! :)

  3. this is such a great way to use shirts! love it!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  4. audrey says:

    Your quilt is wonderful! Love the story and sentimentality behind it.:)

  5. citricsugar says:

    What a great way to upcycle and make new memories from old ones! Beautiful work – and all those shirts go together so well. Lovely!

  6. textisle says:

    Both modern and traditional, looks terrific and will be treasured!

  7. I think this is fabulous work! It’s got the Gee Bend vibe of using what you’ve got.

  8. Kat says:

    I love the soft colors in this quilt. How sweet that the grandbaby will be wrapped in his dad and grand dad’s shirts!

  9. Sharon says:

    Oh, I love this quilt! What a great way to use up the shirts, the pattern really works with the plaids and stripes, and wonderful colors! What a sweet sentiment for a baby’s quilt, and it just looks so cozy. I’m sure the new little boy will adore his quilt!

  10. Cynthia says:

    What a great gift for a grandson! It is perfect!

  11. Aoife says:

    I love the colours in the materials. My sister made a quilt from shirts from all in the family when she was a teenager and it is still the softest quilt I’ve ever felt. I really like your colour layout and those tall triangles are brilliant! Really lovely.

  12. Pingback: Blogger’s Quilt Festival — Winners! | Amy's Creative Side

Leave a Reply

